Creating the perfect balance of sexy and fun

How to create a great online dating profile

I quickly realized that meeting people IRL just doesn’t happen in NYC (after a few weekends of only getting hit on by married men…stories for another time), so I reluctantly downloaded Bumble (girl power!) and Hinge (so the people aren’t total randos, right?)

After approximately 38,392 versions of my profile and many texts to my girlfriends (Do I look skinnier in this picture or this picture? Is this joke as funny as I want it to be?  Does this photo make me look fun or utterly ridiculous? – usually it was the latter), I finally put myself out there into the cyber dating world.

giphy (3).gif

Here’s the recipe I’ve discovered for making a great profile:

  • Have your first picture be a single shot. Nothing is more annoying than scrolling through 4 or 5 pictures trying to figure out who’s profile you’re looking at.
  • Don’t have sunglasses on in every.single.picture. Like seriously? Are you trying to hide something? We all want to see those baby blues! This does not mean no pictures with sunglasses; I happen to have two, but it’s great to see a variety of photos.
  • This one may be obvious, but I’m going to throw it out there: don’t lie about your interests. If you say you love country music and then when I ask you about it, you’ve never been to a concert and “old Taylor Swift” is your favorite artist, I’m going to assume everything else about you is fake too.
  • Actually put forth a little bit of effort. If most of your profile is blank or you only have pictures, it doesn’t matter how attractive you are, it’s so obviously that you’re not going to be into it and, therefore, are not worth the effort.
  • Don’t be afraid to be yourself. Is there a hobby of yours that you absolutely love? Do you want to spend weekends seeing live music? Are you a major foodie who spends too much time on Yelp and online looking at reviews? All of that is awesome and there are people out there who want to do exactly that with you. You’ll save everyone some annoyance and maybe heart ache if you’re genuine in your profile.

What’s the best thing you’ve found for making a great online profile?

Leave a Reply

